DAYNA DUNBAR

  

Author

Motivational Speaker

Workshop Leader

In the tradition of Fannie Flagg and Lorna Landvik, The Saints and Sinners of Okay County is a heartfelt and compelling debut novel with an unforgettable heroine.

 

It’s the story of a woman whose ability to see the futures of others leads her right back into her own troubled past.

 

It’s the summer of 1976, and it seems like the entire state of Oklahoma is celebrating America’s bicentennial. But in the small town of Okay, Aletta Honor has much more on her mind than flags and fireworks. She’s pregnant with her fourth child and hasn’t seen her husband, Jimmy, in weeks. Although she can guess where the hound dog has parked his red-white-and-blue van–in front of the local gin mill, or outside the home of yet another woman for a little Yankee Doodle Diddle…. discretion is not in the man’s constitution.

 

Flat broke and desperate for some cash, Aletta decides to set up a food stand on the front lawn during the Okay Czech Festival. But when a woman touches her hand in sympathy, Aletta is completely unsettled. She never touches anyone outside her family–if she does, she gets overwhelming visions of their lives and futures.

 < Read Chapter 1>

 

“Beautifully written . . . [A] funny and poignant story of a woman struggling to liberate herself in small-town America.”

—FANNY FLAGG

 

“Dayna Dunbar writes with charm and good humor, and in Aletta Honor has created a character you'll remember long after finishing the book.”

—LORNA LANDVIK

The Saints and Sinners of Okay County

Writing Coach